NRTC home

Short Wins District 7 Position on NRTC Board

NEW ORLEANS, LA, Feb. 18, 2013 – Robert "Dale" Short, general manager and CEO, Butler Rural Electric Cooperative Association, El Dorado, KS, was one of three electric cooperative leaders elected to the Board of Directors yesterday during the NRTC Annual Meeting yesterday in New Orleans. Short won an open position for voting District 7 (Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska and Wyoming).

Over a 36-year career, Short has held jobs in marketing, finance and management. He has been general manager of Butler RECA since 2000 having first joined the cooperative in 1989.

The other two elected are familiar faces. David Pierce, director, Amicalola Electric Membership Corporation, Jasper, GA, and Shannon Clark, CEO and general manager, Richland Electric Cooperative, Richland Center, WI, are incumbent board members who were unchallenged for their positions. Pierce represents voting District 2 (Florida, Georgia and South Carolina) and Clark voting District 5 (Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin).

Short will be one of three new members joining the NRTC board in 2013. NRTC telco members elected Raymond Henagan, manager and CEO of Rock Port Telephone, Rock Port, MO, to represent voting District 12 earlier this month. Representative Jo Ann Emerson (R-MO) will be leaving Congress to become CEO of NRECA on March 1 and will assume an automatic at-large position on the NRTC board.